Skip directly to content
latest news
  • Iron and Wine's picture
    January 31, 2013

    Iron and Wine is proud to announce its fifth album, Ghost on Ghost, set to be released on April 15 (4AD) / April 16 (Nonesuch). Produced by Brian Deck with a group of stellar musicians including Rob Burger, who handled arrangements for the strings and horns, Ghost on Ghost features twelve new Iron and Wine songs. For the front cover, Sam Beam selected an image from photographer Barbara Crane's "Private Views" series.

    Stream the song "Lovers' Revolution" on the home page and here.

    Ghost on Ghost pre-order options will be announced shortly.

    Ghost on Ghost Tracklist:

    1. Caught in the Briars
    2. The Desert Babbler
    3. Joy
    4. Low Light Buddy of Mine
    5. Graces for Saints and Ramblers
    6. Grass Windows
    7. Singers and the Endless Song
    8. Sundown (Back in the Briars)
    9. Winter Prayers
    10. New Mexico’s No Breeze
    11. Lovers’ Revolution
    12. Baby Center Stage

    Filed under:
  • Iron and Wine's picture
    November 30, 2012

    Opening a special show for Willie Nelson & Family at the Moody Theater in Austin, TX, Iron & Wine is ready to ring in the New Year! Enjoy the video for a live performance of 'Crazy' below.

    Filed under:
  • Iron and Wine's picture
    September 27, 2012

    To continue Creek At 10 Week we're streaming the song "Her Tea Leaves." Originally available as the A-Side on a bonus 7" released with the album, 'The Creek Drank The Cradle,' the song has been generally unavailable for 10 years. Download the B-Side of the 7", "Carissa's Wierd," in the previous post celebrating 'Creek' at 10 years.

    Filed under:
  • Iron and Wine's picture
    September 24, 2012



    How time flies! September 24, 2012 marks ten years since the release of Iron & Wine's debut album, 'The Creek Drank The Cradle,' and what a ride it has been! A hearty thanks to all of the fans and those that have listened to the music, especially the entire Sub Pop family. 

    To celebrate, we're offering the download of the song, "Carissa's Wierd," previously only available on a bonus 7" vinyl when 'Creek...' was released.

    Download MP3: Carissa's Wierd 

    If you aren't familiar with 'Creek...,'  and it's home-recorded sound, the musical encyclopedia that is Mike McGonigal had this to say about the album.

    "Iron & Wine is Sam Beam, a back-porch Florida singer-songwriter whose sad little songs pack a helluva wallop. Beam's immediately likable tunes paint such clear pictures that songs like "Southern Anthem" and "Muddy Hymnal" are more akin to short stories by Raymond Carver and Flannery O'Connor than to your average pop ditty. Recorded in his living room on a vintage four-track, 'The Creek Drank the Cradle' co-stars cassette hiss, ambient room sound, and Beam himself. A stripped-down, one-man band, Beam contributes delicious Delta-flavored slide guitar, passable banjo, and deliriously beautiful harmonizing. Beam's melt-in-your-head-but-not-in-your-ears voice is instantly recognizable..."  --Mike McGonigal (Amazon)

    "The Creek Drank The Cradle' is sale priced this week via Sub Pop Mailorder ($8 CD / $8 LP), Iron & Wine Mailorder ($8 CD / $8 LP), and iTunes  ($7.99 U.S.).

    Thanks for listening and the support!



    Filed under:
  • WebCrew's picture
    By on 
    August 08, 2012

    Iron & Wine were honored to be a part of "We Walk the Line: A Celebration of the Music of Johnny Cash" in celebration of the late Cash's 80th birthday alongside Willie Nelson, Lucinda Williams and many others. Iron & Wine covered "Long Black Veil" which was also covered by Johnny Cash. Full performance will be broadcast on August 10 on PBS - for now, enjoy Iron & Wine's performance!

    Filed under: